Government of Brunei Darussalam Scholarships 2024-2025 for International Students: Apply Now!


Introduction to Government of Brumei Darussalam Scholarships

Every year, the Brunei Darussalam Government offers special scholarships and award schemes that provide eligible applicants with a chance to pursue their academic dreams at some of the most prestigious institutions in the country. The scholarship awards are designed to allow students to study at the University of Brunei Darussalam [UBD], Kolej Universiti Perguruan Ugama Seri Begawan Islam Sultan Sharif Ali University [UNISSA], Brunei Institute of Technology [ITB], and Politeknik Brunei (PB).

These institutions have a reputation for academic excellence and offer a wide range of courses across various fields of study. The scholarship program is highly competitive, and the selection process is based on academic merit, leadership potential, and other criteria. Successful applicants will receive financial support to cover tuition fees, accommodation, and other living expenses, as well as access to world-class facilities and resources to help them achieve their academic and personal goals.

Scholarships are available for foreign students to study at the University of Brunei Darussalam [UBD], Islam Sultan Sharif Ali University [UNISSA], Brunei Institute of Technology [ITB], and Politeknik Brunei (PB) in Brunei. These scholarships are awarded to students from ASEAN, OIC, Commonwealth Member Countries, and others. The scholarship award is normally tenable for the duration of the programme.

Eligible Universities

  • Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD),
  • Kolej Universiti Perguruan Ugama Seri Begawan
  • Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali (UNISSA),
  • Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) and
  • Politeknik Brunei (PB).

Available Fields of Study 

The scholarships mentioned above are specifically designed to financially support students who are keen on pursuing their undergraduate and postgraduate degree programs in a wide range of disciplines. These scholarships are offered by three renowned educational institutions, namely UBD, UNISSA, and ITB, each of which offers different levels of degree programs. Whether you are interested in the arts, sciences, social sciences, or any other field of study, these scholarships provide you with the opportunity to pursue your academic goals and advance your career prospects with the financial assistance you need.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applications are open to citizens of, but not limited to, ASEAN, Commonwealth and OIC member countries.
  • Applicants should be nominated by their Government.
  • Applicants must be certified to be medically fit to undertake the scholarship and study in Brunei Darussalam, by a qualified medical practitioner registered with any Government Authority(ies) before arrival in Brunei Darussalam. Any costs incurred in obtaining this certification are to be borne by the applicant.
  • Applicants must be, between the ages of 18-25 for Undergraduate and Diploma programmes and must not exceed the age of 35 for Postgraduate Master’s Degree programmes on the 31st of July 2024.
  • The award is NOT eligible for Brunei Darussalam Permanent Residents.

Benefits of the Scholarship

The scholars are exempted from paying tuition fees and other appropriate compulsory fees as determined by the university for the duration of the programme.

One return economy class air ticket for the most economically viable route to Brunei Darussalam will be determined by the Brunei Darussalam Government. No additional assistance will be provided towards other travel expenses.

Allowances payable will include:

  • Monthly personal allowance of BND500.00
  • Annual Book Allowance BND600.00
  • Monthly food allowance of BND150.00
  • Upon completion of the program, baggage allowance to a maximum institution is BND250.00 for the ASEAN region and BND500.00 for the non-ASEAN region.
  • Accommodation at the respective institution residential college is provided. If the scholar opts not to live in the provided accommodation, no additional allowance will be given instead of board and transport.
  • Outpatient medical and dental treatment is at any Brunei government hospital. However, an administrative charge is payable for each consultation with the government general practitioner or specialist.
  • Should the scholar seek further medical or dental treatments at any private hospital or clinic, all expenses are to be borne by the scholars themselves.

Duration of Scholarship

The scholarship award is normally tenable for the minimum period required to obtain the specific degree which is four years for a first degree with honours, one to two years for a master’s degree, three years for a doctoral degree at UBD, UNISSA and ITB, two and a half years for HND at ITB, three years for diploma of health sciences at UBD, all on a full-time basis.

Eligible Countries

Students of ASEAN (Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam), OIC (Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, 

Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and Yemen), Commonwealth Member Countries ((Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, 

Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British) and Zambia) and others can apply for the scholarships.

How to Apply

Please note that the deadline for applications is February 12th, 2024. To apply, please fill out the online application form following the link below. Applicants applying to Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD) must also complete an online application here. Applicants applying to Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) must also complete an online application here.

See also:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *